Opera Arts, the home of opera art, opera posters, opera singers, opera conductors and opera composers

Opera Arts

Opera Composers

Leos Janácek

Leos Janácek



Janácek's first opera (Jenufa) blended folksong-like melodies with a plot of great intensity (illegitimacy and infanticide).

His later works became increasingly terse, with recurrent melodic themes, lyrical outbursts and unconventional orchestration providing a unique collection of source-material that makes Janacek's works easily recognisable.

His other works of note include Kátia Kabanová (1921), The Cunning Little Vixen (1924), The Makropulos Affair (1926) and From the House of the Dead.

In recent years his works continue to garner considerable interest and most of them are considered part of the basic opera repertory.

Back to Opera Composers

Opera, Opera Posters, Opera Art, Opera Stars, Opera Arts

Privacy Policy

Opera Arts
© 2010-2013