Opera Arts, the home of opera art, opera posters, opera singers, opera conductors and opera composers

Opera Arts

Legends of Opera

Yevgeny Nesterenko

Yevgeny Nesterenko

(Born 8 January 1938)

Click here for recordings and performances by Yevgeny Nesterenko.

Yevgeny Nesterenko is a renowned Russian bass.

After winning a gold Medeal at the 4th Moscow International Tchaikovsky Competition he recieved and invitation to Moscow's Bolshoi Theatre.

Since then he has sung over 80 leading bass roles and he has performed 21 operas in their original languages.

He has performed leading roles in operas by Glinka, Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky and Borodin and he was the first to perform many works by Shostakovich, Sviridov and Taktakishvili.

Yevgeny Nesterenko's enormous repertoire actually ranges from deep bass parts to baritone roles by both classical Russian composers as well as Western European composers.

He is considered to be the finest living Tsar Boris in Mussorgsky's opera Boris Godunov and in 1981 he was awarded the "Golden Viotti" medal in Italy for his interpretation of Boris.

Performing in most of the world's leading opera houses such as the Metropolitan Opera, Covent Garden, the Vienna State Opera and La Scala he has won many awards and recieved great acclaim.

He has also become a noted interpreter of his frequent portrayals of Attila in Verdi's early classic and has over 70 recordings to his credit.

He has been filmed in Attila with Maria Chiara as Odabella and in recent times has become a renowned teacher of voice at the Moscow Conservatory as well as the Higher Music School in Vienna.

Yevgeny Nesterenko is known to be an outstanding artist with style, taste and great expressivness. Author of two books about music and singing he is also the author of over 200 printed works as well as being one of the most experienced International music competition audjudicators.

Click here for recordings and performances by Yevgeny Nesterenko.

Back to Legends of Opera

Opera, Opera Posters, Opera Art, Opera Stars, Opera Arts

Privacy Policy

Opera Arts
© 2010-2013